My Scholarly Reflections

This is where I tell what I think, so that I see what I say

Zombies, kings….and learning

leave a comment »

I love two TV series: Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead. Game of Thrones is based on fantasy novels of George R. R. Marin (wikipedia entry is here). The Walking Dead is, as you might have guessed it, about a post-apocalyptic zombie infested world (wikipedia entry here). Both are absolutely riveting. Both, although representing totally different fiction genre, have key common themes: complex characters facing morally ambigious situations, situations which throw up uncertainties and delimmas which cannot be solved through simple ‘rules of thumb’, heros turn to villains while villains appear to be the most engaging/attractive. I leave readers to do their own search on the TV series, if they are interested, but suffice to say that the two series model life’s rich complexities and contradictions far better any classroom learning interaction.

The tv programmes grab me through their highly believable ‘world building’, emotional hooks and cliff hangers, their rich rendering of characters and strong narrative arcs. I spend days thinking about scenes from particular episodes and argue with my wife (yes, she is hooked as well!) on the deeper implications of a character’s moves. I am not the only one doing that. The cyberspace is abuz with interactions discussing minute details of the plot and characters of those tv series, discussing implications on morality, leadership, economics etc.

A student in my class needed to discuss teamwork and leadership in one of his assignments. Who did he mention and analyze in detail, as examplars of the two constructs? The main protagonist, Rick Grimes, and his group of survivors in the Zombie apocalypse, from the tv series The Walking Dead…

Written by Amer Khan

June 10, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

