My Scholarly Reflections

This is where I tell what I think, so that I see what I say

leave a comment »

I am increasingly drawn to Prof Egan’s imaginative education model. I have got his books and now tyring to find time slot to read them! But one thing I have personally noticed: My kids are most animated when I suggest the initial story opening and they try to take it further. In my recent class, I tried to experiment with a role playing game involving students playing out a scenario and taking up roles. Students were highly animated and engaged! Of course this needs careful ‘evidence based’ investigation to check pedagogical effectiveness!

Playable

With some excitement, I’ve got a new project to work on called Learning In Depth, badged as LIDKIDS University. It’s not new, and I certainly didn’t create it. However, if you are familiar with Professor Kieran Egan or his work on ‘imaginative’ education, then you may have heard of this project in Canada. This very much aligns with the work we’ve been trying to do in Massively Minecraft in many ways.

There is a lot to admire in Professor Egan’s ideas for eduction. I find a lot of what he says in his books and research to be demonstratably true in computer and video games, though he himself isn’t a ludologist, nor advocating in games based learning. This then is largly how I discoverd him, though his work in imagination, and I hope we will be able to add some game-like experiences to the established work.

LID Kids is…

View original post 207 more words

Written by Amer Khan

July 23, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

